All About NICAS

NICAS stands for the National Indoor Climbing Award Schemes

This is a set of different qualifications that give students the skills and experience to climb safely and a structure in which to progress to more challenging routes and improved performance.

Alter Rock is the only climbing centre in Derby that is authorised to award NICAS levels 1-4.

  • Level 1 – Foundation Climber
  • Level 2 – Top Rope Climber
  • Level 3 – Technical Climber
  • Level 4 – Lead Climber

The scheme is run by the ABC Training Trust a registered charity and recognised by the British Mountaineering Council, the Mountaineering Council of Scotland and the Mountaineering Council of Ireland.

We run regular NICAS-certified climbing courses at different levels throughout the year

More information about NICAS  is available here on their website.

NICAS certificates and log books
NICAS certificates and log books